Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Tuesday, 15 October 2019
Cocoa butter
Print E-mail
01_kl_Kakao02_kl_Kakao

Cocoa butter is obtained by pressing and centrifugation or filtering cocoa kernel fat (cocoa bean) or from cocoa mass made from the seed (bean) of the cocoa tree (Theobroma cacao L.). The resultant product is then refined.

The cocoa tree grows to a height of 15m and lives for up to 60 years. It is an evergreen tree that requires temperatures of 25-28°C, 80% humidity, 1500-2000 mm/m3 annual rainfall, nutrient-rich, well-drained soil, shady conditions and a mild climate. It is native to the tropical rain-forests lining the banks of the Amazon and Orinoco. From there, it was cultivated by the Mayas, Olmecs and Aztecs and spread to Central America and, subsequently, following the Spanish conquest of these areas, to other parts of the planet as well (in 1530, Hernán Cortez brought the first sizeable quantities of cocoa beans to Europe. These were approx. 2 cm long, 1 cm wide and weighed approx. 1 g). To the Aztecs, cocoa beans were of great economic importance (as a currency; a rabbit cost 10 cocoa beans) and of great mythological significance. Evidence of this can be found in the records of the Spanish Conquistador, Hernán Cortez, in Mexico. According to these records, the wealth of the national treasury of Montezuma II et al stood at 2.5m kg of cocoa beans (equivalent to approx. 1.25 bn beans. For comparison purposes, a bar of chocolate contains approx. 35 beans).

Today, the cocoa tree thrives within a 3000 km wide belt straddling the Equator. The principal areas are Central and West Africa, Central and South America, Ceylon, Indonesia, New Guinea and the Philippines. Cocoa butter is obtained either by pressing cocoa beans, which have a fat content of approx. 50-60%, (this is rarely used) or by pressing pre-roasted, ground and warmed liquid cocoa paste (cocoa masses containing >50% cocoa butter do not dry out). Press residue is processed into cocoa powder and forms the raw ingredient for products such as chocolate. Finally, cocoa butter obtained in this way is refined.

At room temperature, the rough, pale yellow cocoa butter, with a faint smell of cocoa and a mild, distinctive taste, consists primarily of palmitic, stearic and oleic acids and melts at approx. 36°C. Cocoa butter is used in the food industry for milk and fondant forms of chocolate; it is mixed with cocoa mass as patissier's chocolate (coatings for biscuits and chocolates) and, recently, has started to be processed into 'white' chocolate. In the pharmaceuticals trade, cocoa butter is used as an ointment base and in the production of suppositories. The cosmetics industry uses cocoa butter for lipsticks and hair cream.

INCI Name: Theobroma Cacao Seed Butter

Specifications

 

Pharmaceutics

News image

Cod-liver oil

Cod-liver oil is obtained from fresh o...

more

Cosmetics

News image

Grapeseed oil

Grapeseed oil is obtained from the ...

more

Food

News image

Linseed oil

Linseed oil is obtained from the seed ...

more

Chemistry/Technics

News image

MCT-oil

MCT is an abbreviation that stands ...

more

Organic products

News image

Avocado oil

Avocado oil is obtained from the flesh...

more

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Mittwoch, 20. September 2017
Kakaobutter
Drucken E-Mail
02_kl_Kakao01_kl_KakaoKakaobutter wird durch Abpressen und zentrifugieren oder filtrieren des Fettes aus den Kakaokernen (Kakaobohne) oder aus der Kakaomasse von Samen (Bohne) des Kakaobaumes Theobroma cacao L. gewonnen und anschließend Raffination zugeführt.

Die Heimat des bis zu 15 m hohen und 60 Jahre alt werdenden, immergrünen, Temperaturen zwischen 25-28°C, 80 % Luftfeuchtigkeit, 1500-2000 mm/m3 Jahresniederschlag, nährstoffreichen, durchlässigen Boden, schattigen, feuchtwarmes Klima benötigten, Kakaobaumes liegt in den tropischen Regenwäldern entlang des Amazonas und Orinocos. Von dort wurde er durch die Mayas, Olmeken und Azteken kultiviert und bis nach Mittelamerika und später nach der Eroberung dieser Gebiete durch die Spanier (Hernán Cortez brachte um 1530 erstmalig größere Mengen der ca. 2 cm langen, 1 cm breiten und ca. 1 g wiegende Kakaobohne nach Europa) auch in andere Regionen der Erde verbreitet. Kakaobohnen hatten bei den Azteken eine enorme wirtschaftliche (Zahlungsmittel; ein Kaninchen kostete 10 Kakaobohnen) und mythologische Bedeutung. Dies belegen Aufzeichnungen des spanischen Eroberers Mexikos Hernán Cortez. So bestand der Staatsschatz Montezumas II u.a. aus 25 000 Zentnern Kakaobohnen (entspricht etwa 1,25 Milliarden Bohnen; zum Vergleich: eine Tafel Schokolade enthält ca. 35 Bohnen).

Heute gedeiht der Kakaobaum innerhalb eines 3000 km breiten Gürtels entlang des Äquators. Die Hauptanbaugebiete sind Zentral- und Westafrika, Mittel- und Südamerika, Ceylon, Indonesien, Neuguinea und die Philippinen. Die Kakaobuttergewinnung erfolgt entweder durch Abpressen aus den ca. 50-60 % fetthaltigen Kakaobohnen (wird selten angewendet) oder aus dem zuvor gerösteten, zermahlenen und erwärmten zähflüssigen Kakaobrei durch Pressen (Kakaomassen mit mehr als 50 % Kakaobutter trocknen nicht). Der Pressrückstand wird zu Kakaopulver verarbeitet und ist der Rohstoff für z. B. Schokolade. Die so gewonnene Kakaobutter wird anschließend raffiniert.

Die bei Zimmertemperatur spröde, blässlichgelbe, schwach kakaoartigen Geruch und milden eigenartigen Geschmack aufweisende Kakaobutter besteht hauptsächlich aus Palmitin-, Stearin- und Ölsäure und schmilzt bei ca. 36°C. Kakaobutter wird in der Lebensmittelindustrie der Milch- und Schmelzschokolade zugesetzt, mit Kakaomasse zu Kuvertüre (Überzugsmasse für Gebäck und Pralinen) vermischt, neuerdings auch zu "weißer" Schokolade verarbeitet. In der Pharmazie dient Kakaobutter als Salbengrundlage und zur Herstellung von Zäpfchen. Die Kosmetik verwendet Kakaobutter für Lippenstifte und Pomade.

INCI-Bezeichnung: Theobroma Cacao Seed Butter

Spezifikationsdaten

 

Pharmazie

News image

Erdnussöl

Erdnussöl wird aus den geschälten ...

mehr

Kosmetik

News image

Traubenkernöl

Traubenkernöl wird aus den zerkleinerten...

mehr

Lebensmittel

News image

Sonnenblumenöl

Sonnenblumenöl wird aus den geschälten ...

mehr

Chemie/Technik

News image

Palmöl

Palmöl wird durch Auspressen oder ...

mehr

Bio-Produkte

News image

Kokosöl

Kokosöl wird aus der Kopra (getrocknetes...

mehr