Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Sunday, 18 August 2019
Borage oil
Print E-mail

01_kl_Borretsch02_kl_Borretsch

Borage oil is obtained from seeds of Borago officinalis L. (cold-pressed borage oil) either by mechanical pressing or by extraction, after which it is refined (refined borage oil).

Borage is a rough-leaved annual that belongs to the family Boraginaceae. It stands 30-60 cm tall and features blue flowers, with rough leaves (which are also used to flavour green 'cucumber' salads on account of their aroma, which strongly resembles that of fresh cucumber). This plant originated in uncultivated open spaces in the Mediterranean region.

The plant is also to be found along borders in gardens, along roadside verges and on fallow land. Outside Germany, borage is native to Western, Central and Eastern Europe, also to South-West Asia and North America. However, the main areas are the Netherlands, France, Spain and Latin America.

Borage has been used for a long time as a natural remedy (a mucolytic agent for people with coughs, or as a blood purification agent), but it also contains pyrrolizidine alkaloids associated with hepatotoxic and carcinogenic undesirable effects (the Celts intoxicated themselves with borage-flavoured wine before going into battle). The clear, light yellow oil, which is rich in palmitic, oleic and linoleic acids and is particularly rich (16-25%) in g-linoleic acid, gives off a characteristic smell and has a mild taste. Borage oil has a higher naturally-occurring g-linoleic acid content than any other vegetable oil.

It is used for medicinal purposes in the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis, skin disorders (psoriasis), eczema, coronary stenosis, hypertension, also to control the amount of cholesterol circulating in the blood. Other areas in which it is used include aromatherapy and the regeneration of worn out skin and nail tissue.

INCI Name: Borago Officinalis Seed Oil
 

Pharmaceutics

News image

Cod-liver oil

Cod-liver oil is obtained from fresh o...

more

Cosmetics

News image

Beeswax

Beeswax is obtained by melting down ...

more

Food

News image

Hazelnut oil

Hazelnut oil is obtained by pressing k...

more

Chemistry/Technics

News image

Rapeseed oil (Colza

Colza oil is obtained by pressing or b...

more

Organic products

News image

Rosehip seed oil

Rosehip seed oil is obtained from rose...

more

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Mittwoch, 20. September 2017
Borretschöl
Drucken E-Mail

01_kl_Borretsch02_kl_BorretschBorretschöl wird entweder durch mechanisches Pressen aus den Samen von Borago officinalis L. (kalt gepresstes Borretschöl) gewonnen oder extrahiert und anschließend raffiniert (raffiniertes Borretschöl).

Die zu den Rauhblattgewächsen zählende, einjährige, 30-60 cm hohe, blau blühende, mit behaarten Blättern versehene Borretschpflanze (die wegen des stark an frische Gurken erinnernden Aromas auch zum Würzen grüner Salate verwendet wird, "Gurkenkraut") ist eine ursprünglich aus dem Mittelmeergebiet stammende Ödlandpflanze.

Die Pflanze ist auch an Garteneinzäunungen, Straßenrändern und auf Brachland zu finden. Außerhalb Deutschlands ist der Borretsch in West-, Zentral- und Osteuropa beheimatet, aber auch im Südwesten Asiens und Nordamerika. Hauptanbaugebiete sind jedoch die Niederlande, Frankreich, Spanien und Lateinamerika.

Borretsch wird seit langem als Droge in der Naturheilkunde (Schleimlösendes Mittel bei Husten oder als Blutreinigungsmittel) verwendet, allerdings besitzen die auch enthaltenen Pyrrolizidin-Alkaloide hepatotoxische und karcinogene Nebenwirkungen (so berauschten sich die Kelten vor einer Schlacht an mit Borretsch aromatisiertem Wein). Das aus den Samen gewonnene, leicht gelbe, klare, palmitin-, öl-, linol- und vor allem stark gammalinolensäurereiche Öl (16-25 %) hat einen charakteristischen Geruch und milden Geschmack. Borretschöl ist das pflanzliche Öl mit dem höchsten natürlich vorkommenden Gehalt an gamma - Linolensäure.

Das Einsatzgebiet ist die Medizin, wo es zur Behandlung von rheumatischer Arthritis, Hautkrankheiten (Psoriasis) Hautekzemen, Herzkranzverengungen, Bluthochdruck sowie zur Regelung des Cholesterinspiegels im Blut eingesetzt wird. Weitere Anwendungsgebiete sind die Aromatherapie sowie die Regeneration beanspruchter Haut und Nägel.

INCI-Bezeichnung: Borago Officinalis Seed Oil

Spezifikationsdaten

 

Pharmazie

News image

Borretschöl

Borretschöl wird entweder durch mechanis...

mehr

Kosmetik

News image

Jojobaöl

Jojobaöl (Synomym: Flüssiges Jojobawachs...

mehr

Lebensmittel

News image

Reiskeimöl

Reiskeimöl (Reisöl) wird ...

mehr

Chemie/Technik

News image

MCT-Öl

MCT - Öl steht für die Abkürzung ...

mehr

Bio-Produkte

News image

Kokosöl

Kokosöl wird aus der Kopra (getrocknetes...

mehr