Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Sunday, 18 August 2019
Evening primrose oil
Print E-mail

01_kl_EPO02_kl_EPO

Evening primrose oil is obtained by pressing the seed of Oenothera varieties, in particular, Oenothera biennis L. and Oenothera erythrosepala Borb. (cold-pressed evening primrose oil). Oil obtained by cold-pressing can be refined (refined evening primrose oil).

The evening primrose was brought from North America at the beginning of the 17th century and has spread, in temperate latitudes, into uncultivated open spaces and (previously) along railway embankments. During its first year, the biennial plant forms a flat rosette that lies on the ground, waiting until the second year before producing a cluster-type inflorescence with yellow blossom, at a height of = 1m. The taproots, measuring up to 20 cm in length, are harvested during the autumn and have been a prized vegetable since very ancient times (yellow 'Rapunzel').

Native Americans used oil obtained from the seeds to heal wounds. Nowadays, this clear, bright yellow to yellow, fatty oil, rich in linoleic acid and extremely rich in g-linolenic acid (8-12%), with a faint smell and a mild taste, is used to give relief from eczema, acne and psoriasis. When taken orally, it provides relief from pre-menstrual syndrome.

INCI Name: Oenothera Biennis Oil
 

Pharmaceutics

News image

Castor oil

Castor oil is obtained from the seed o...

more

Cosmetics

News image

Grapeseed oil

Grapeseed oil is obtained from the ...

more

Food

News image

Rice bran oil

Rice bran oil (rice germ oil) is obtai...

more

Chemistry/Technics

News image

Wool fat

Lanolin (synonyms: wool wax, wool grea...

more

Organic products

News image

Rosehip seed oil

Rosehip seed oil is obtained from rose...

more

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Mittwoch, 22. November 2017
Nachtkerzenöl
Drucken E-Mail

01_kl_EPO02_kl_EPONachtkerzenöl wird aus den Samen von Oenothera Arten, insbesondere Oenothera biennis L. und Oenothera erythrosepala Borb. durch Pressen gewonnen (kalt gepresstes Nachtkerzenöl). Das durch die Kaltpressung gewonnene Öl kann einer Raffination zugeführt werden (raffiniertes Nachtkerzenöl).

Die zu Beginn des 17. Jahrhundert aus Nordamerika eingeschleppte Nachtkerze ist in gemäßigten Breiten auf Öldland und (früher) an Eisenbahndämmen verbreitet. Die zweijährige Pflanze bildet im ersten Jahr eine flach am Boden liegende Rosette aus, erst im zweiten Jahr treibt sie einen bis zu 1 m hohen traubigen Blütenstand mit gelben Blüten aus. Die im Herbst geernteten 20 cm langen Rüben waren schon sehr früh als ein geschätztes Gemüse bekannt (gelbe Rapunzel).

Schon die amerikanische Urbevölkerung verwendete das aus den Samen gewonnene Öl zur Wundheilung. Heute wird das linolsäurereiche und stark gammalinolenreiche, (8-12 %), klare, hellgelbe bis gelbe, fette Öl mit schwachem Geruch und mildem Geschmack zur Linderung von Hautekzemen, Akne und Schuppenflechte eingesetzt. Oral eingenommen lindert es das premenstruale Syndrom.

INCI-Bezeichnung: Oenothera Biennis Oil

Spezifikationsdaten

 

Pharmazie

News image

Weizenkeimöl

Weizenkeimöl wird aus den Keimen ...

mehr

Kosmetik

News image

Pistazienkernöl

Pistacia Vera stammt ursprünglich aus Ze...

mehr

Lebensmittel

News image

Leinöl

Leinöl wird aus den Samen der ...

mehr

Chemie/Technik

News image

Rapsöl

Rapsöl (Rüböl) wird aus den Samen ...

mehr

Bio-Produkte

News image

Olivenöl

Olivenöl wird aus dem Fruchtfleisch der ...

mehr