Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Saturday, 22 February 2020
Paraffin oil
Print E-mail

Paraffin oil is the term generally used to describe any solid or liquid mixture of purified saturated, aliphatic hydrocarbons (paraffins) obtained from petroleum. A distinction is made between 'viscous paraffin' (Paraffinum liquidum or Paraffinum subliquidum), 'low-viscosity paraffin' (Paraffinum perliquidum) and 'hard paraffin' (Paraffinum solidum), this distinction being based primarily upon viscosity.

Paraffin, whatever the type, is obtained: 1) by distilling petroleum residue, bituminous shale or peat and output from low-temperature lignite carbonisation, or, 2) by means of a medium-pressure synthetic process involving the use of CO and H2, with catalysts (modified Fischer-Tropsch-synthesis). Paste (paraffin slack wax) precipitated during petroleum distillation is cooled, de-oiled and bleached to yield hard paraffin. In contrast, liquid paraffin is obtained by distillation. All types of paraffin, except the hard form, are colourless, clear, oily, non-fluorescent in daylight, entirely or virtually odourless, tasteless liquids. It is only when they are heated that they give off a faint smell. Paraffins are insoluble in water, poorly soluble in ethanol and soluble in ether and hydrocarbons.

Paraffins are used in Medicine and in cosmetics, in ointments and creams, also as a mild laxative. Paraffins are also used in the production of candles, floor treatment preparations, wood and metal polishes, car care materials, grinding paste and tap grease, grafting waxes, cosmetic pencils, modelling materials, suspensions used in infrared spectroscopy (Nujol), embedding media used in microscopy, heating baths used in chemical apparatus (transformer oils), chemical lubricants used in high-precision mechanisms (oils for weapons), linoleum, waxed papers, for waxing fruit and cheeses and as a wetting agent (snuff). One totally different use for paraffin is as a method of controlling dust (e.g. keeping sawdust under control at equestrian events).

INCI Name: Paraffinum Liquidum
 

Pharmaceutics

News image

Sesame oil

Sesame oil is obtained from the ripe s...

more

Cosmetics

News image

Shea butter

Shea butter is obtained by pressing an...

more

Food

News image

Linseed oil

Linseed oil is obtained from the seed ...

more

Chemistry/Technics

News image

Wool fat

Lanolin (synonyms: wool wax, wool grea...

more

Organic products

News image

Pomegranate seed oil

The Pomegranate tree is one of the old...

more

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Mittwoch, 20. September 2017
Paraffinöl
Drucken E-Mail

Paraffinöl ist die allgemeine Bezeichnung für ein aus Erdöl gewonnenes festes oder flüssiges Gemisch gereinigter, gesättigter, aliphatischer Kohlenwasserstoffe (Paraffine). Man unterscheidet zwischen dickflüssigem Paraffin (Paraffinum liquidum oder Paraffinum subliquidum), dünnflüssigem Paraffin (Paraffinum perliquidum) und Hartparaffin (Paraffinum solidum). Die Unterschiede betreffen hauptsächlich die Viskosität.

Alle Paraffinarten werden entweder aus den Rückständen der Erdöldestillation, des bituminösen Schiefers bzw. Torfkohlen und der Produktion der Braunkohlenschwelerei oder durch die Mitteldrucksynthese aus CO und H2 unter Einsatz von Katalysatoren (abgewandelte Fischer-Tropsch-Synthese) gewonnen. Aus dem bei der Erdöldestillation anfallenden Brei (Paraffin Gatsch) wird Hartparaffin durch Abkühlen gewonnen und anschließend entölt und gebleicht. Flüssiges Paraffin wird dagegen destillativ gewonnen. Bis auf Hartparaffin sind Paraffine farblose, klare, ölige, am Tageslicht nicht fluoreszierende, geruchslose bis fast geruchslose, geschmackslose Flüssigkeiten. Nur nach Erhitzen weisen sie einen schwachen Geruch auf. Paraffine sind unlöslich in Wasser, schwer löslich in Ethanol und löslich in Ether und Kohlenwasserstoffen.

Paraffine werden in der Medizin und Kosmetik in Salben und Cremes aber auch als mildes Abführmittel verwendet. Weiterhin werden Paraffine zur Herstellung von Kerzen, Fußbodenpflegemitteln, Holz- und Metallpolituren, Autopflegemitteln, Schliff- und Hahnfetten, Baumwachsen, Malstiften, Modelliermassen, Suspensionsmitteln in der Infrarot-Spektroskopie (Nujol), Einbettungsmitteln in der Mikroskopie, Heizbädern im chemischen Apparatebau (Transformatorenöle), chemischen Schmiermitteln in der Feinmechanik (Waffenöle), Linoleum, gewachsten Papieren, zum Obst- und Käsewachsen und als Benetzungsmittel (Schnupftabak) eingesetzt. Ein ganz anderer Einsatz von Paraffin ist die Verwendung als Entstaubungsmittel (Niederhalten von z.B. Sägespänen bei Pferdeturnieren).

INCI-Bezeichnung: Paraffinum Liquidum

Spezifikationsdaten

 

Pharmazie

News image

Nachtkerzenöl

Nachtkerzenöl wird aus den Samen ...

mehr

Kosmetik

News image

Bienenwachs

Bienenwachs wird durch Ausschmelzen ...

mehr

Lebensmittel

News image

Sonnenblumenöl

Sonnenblumenöl wird aus den geschälten ...

mehr

Chemie/Technik

News image

Wollfett / Lanolin /

Wollfett (Synonyme: Wollwachs, Lanolin, ...

mehr

Bio-Produkte

News image

Hagebuttenkernöl

Hagebuttenkernöl wird aus den Hagebutten...

mehr