Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Friday, 06 December 2019
Carnauba wax
Print E-mail

Carnauba wax is obtained by scraping or cooking leaves from the Carnauba palm (Copernicia cerifera Mart.). The product is then purified. Crude product is not available on the market.

During the dry season, the wild Carnauba palm, that is found mainly in Northern Brazil and that stands approx. 15 m tall, forms waxy scales on its fan leaves, which measure approx. 2 m in length. These help to protect the tree against evaporation loss during the dry season.

The wax is collected during the dry season by cutting off 6-8 leaves from the Carnauba palm every 2 months. The waxy scales loosened as the leaves shrink are then either knocked, stripped or brushed off, or the wax is removed mechanically. The wax is purified in boiling water and then filtered. Once it has set, it is broken up into pieces. Carnauba wax is bright yellow to yellow, or greenish to dark green (with colouring that depends on the effort that goes into purification). In its molten state, it gives off a characteristic pungent, but not unpleasant smell. It has a high hardening capacity (the highest found in any type of wax, including synthetic products) and it is extremely difficult to saponify (development of wax alcohol and hydrocarbon emulsions prevent the formation of soap!). Since the advent onto the world market of synthetic waxes that are cheaper to produce, carnauba wax has ceased to be competitive, due to the exhausting, labour-intensive process involved in production. This is also due to the fact that a single carnauba palm only produces 150-180 g of wax per annum, equivalent to a yield of 5 g wax per 100 g leaf material.

Despite these disadvantages, carnauba wax is a popular raw material in industry, being used in the production of self-glazing emulsions and carbon paper, also for glazing special papers (art paper). It is used in the production of both candles and gramophone records. A further major user is the cleaning products industry, where carnauba wax is used as an additive in shoe-care products, floor and furniture wax, also as a polishing wax for motor vehicles (on account of its ability to set to such a hard finish).

Carnauba wax that has undergone further processing (refining, brightening with bleaching earth or partial saponification, addition of synthetic waxes, subsequent acidification) is used as bleached carnauba wax, for cosmetic purposes (e.g. lipsticks), also in the pharmaceutical trade for coated tablets.

INCI Name: Cera Carnauba
 

Pharmaceutics

News image

Evening primrose oil

Evening primrose oil is obtained by pr...

more

Cosmetics

News image

Beeswax

Beeswax is obtained by melting down ...

more

Food

News image

Pumpkin seed oil

Pumpkin seed oil is obtained from drie...

more

Chemistry/Technics

News image

MCT-oil

MCT is an abbreviation that stands ...

more

Organic products

News image

Olive oil

Olive oil is obtained from the flesh o...

more

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Mittwoch, 20. September 2017
Carnaubawachs
Drucken E-Mail

Carnaubawachs wird durch Abschaben oder Kochen der Blätter der Carnaubapalme (Copernicia cerifera Mart.) gewonnen und anschließend gereinigt. Rohware kommt nicht in den Handel.

Die wild wachsende, ca. 15 m hohe, hauptsächlich in Nordbrasilien vorkommende Carnaubapalme bildet in der Trockenzeit Wachsschüppchen auf ihren ca. 2 m langen Fächerblättern aus. Diese stellen einen Transpirationsschutz gegen die Trockenheit dar.

Die Gewinnung des Wachses erfolgt in der Trockenzeit, indem man alle 2 Monate 6-8 Blätter von der Carnaubapalme abschneidet und die durch das Schrumpfen der Blätter gelockerten Wachsschüppchen abklopft, abstreift, abbürstet oder maschinell entwachst. Durch Kochen des Wachses in Wasser wird es gereinigt, filtriert und nach dem Festwerden in Stücke gebrochen. Die mühsame, arbeitsintensive Herstellung des hellgelben bis gelben oder grünlichen bis dunkelgrauen (die Farbe ist abhängig von dem Reinigungaufwand), im geschmolzenen Zustand strengen, charakteristischen, jedoch nicht unangenehmen Geruch aufweisende, großes Härtungsvermögen (größtes Härtungsvermögen von allen Wachsarten, einschließlich der synthetischen Wachse) besitzende, sehr schwer verseifbaren Carnaubawachses (entstehen von Wachsalkohol- und Kohlenwasserstoffemulsionen, keine Seifenbildung!!) ist seit der Herstellung billigerer synthetischer Wachse auf dem Weltmarkt kaum noch konkurrenzfähig. Dies liegt auch daran, daß eine Carnaubapalme nur 150-180 g Wachs pro Jahr produziert, was umgerechnet eine Ausbeute von 5 g Wachs pro 100 g Blattmaterial entspricht.

Trotz dieser Nachteile ist Carnaubawachs ein beliebter Rohstoff in der Industrie. Carnaubawachs wird verwendet zu Herstellung von Selbstglanzemulsionen, Kohlepapier und zum Glätten spezieller Papiere (Kunstdrucke). Es wird zur Herstellung von Kerzen ein-gesetzt, in der Produktion von Schallplatten findet es ebenso Verwendung. Ein weiterer großer Anwendungssektor ist die Reinigungsmittelindustrie. Carnaubawachs wird dort als Beimischung in Schuhpflegemittel, Fußboden- und Möbelwachs sowie als Polierwachs in der Autolackpflege (wegen des hohen Härtungsvermögen) eingesetzt.

Weiterverarbeitetes Carnaubawachs (Raffination, Farbaufhellung durch Bleicherden oder partiellen Verseifung, Zusatz von synthetischen Wachsen, anschließendes Ansäuern) wird als gebleichtes Carnaubawachs für kosmetische Zwecke (z. Bsp. Lippenstifte) und in der pharmazeutischen Industrie für Dragees verwendet.

INCI-Bezeichnung: Cera Carnauba

Spezifikationen

 

Pharmazie

News image

Rizinusöl

Rizinusöl wird aus den Samen von ...

mehr

Kosmetik

News image

Sheabutter

Sheabutter wird aus den zerstampften ...

mehr

Lebensmittel

News image

Leinöl

Leinöl wird aus den Samen der ...

mehr

Chemie/Technik

News image

Palmkernöl

Palmkernöl wird durch Auspressen ...

mehr

Bio-Produkte

News image

Granatapfelkernöl

Der Granatapfel gehört zu den ältesten...

mehr