Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Thursday, 24 April 2014
Safflower oil
Print E-mail

Safflower oil (Distel oil) is obtained from ripe seeds taken from the Carthamus tinctorius L. (Asteraceae). It is produced by pressing (cold-pressed safflower oil) or extraction, followed by refining (refined safflower oil).

The safflower plant, sometimes referred to incorrectly as 'saffron', has been cultivated and highly valued since ancient times in the Near and Middle East. Long ago, the red pigment was used as a fabric dye. In 1887, the researcher Georg Schweinfurth identified it as a substance used in the Egyptian mummification process, showing how important the plant was, since only the Pharaoh had the right to cultivate safflowers. Until recent times, safflowers were used in dyeing, mainly in the Alsace region, until their position was challenged by the discovery of aniline dyes.

The unassuming safflower, a herbaceous plant (depending on how closely planting is carried out) that tolerates dry and saline conditions and puts down roots to a depth of <3m, prefers temperatures of 24-32°C and is cultivated nowadays primarily in India, Mexico, the USA, Ethiopia, Australia and Spain. Safflowers are harvested when the plants are actually quite dry, but have not yet dried out completely. Depending on the variety, the number of seeds ranges between 1000 and 2500, but the oil content is only 15%. Since the shell accounts for a very high proportion (45%) and is, furthermore, of no value, safflowers would actually be unsuitable for oil extraction were it not for an extremely high proportion of essential linoleic acid, which compensates for these negative attributes.

Safflower oil, which is obtained from the seed once it has been peeled, conditioned, flaked and pressed or extracted, has the highest linoleic acid content (approx. 80%) of all vegetable oils. Other fatty acids include oleic and palmitic acids (10-15% and 5-8%, respectively). Usually, cold-pressed safflower oil is then refined. The yellow oil, which has a characteristic, mild taste, is particularly well-suited to a biological wholefood diet. Safflower oil is also used in foodstuffs used for dieting (margarine, edible oil) and in cosmetics. In the pharmaceuticals trade, it is used in dermatological preparations and in medicines that lower the cholesterol level. Safflower oil has also acquired importance as a raw material for surface coatings and varnishes.

INCI Name: Carthamus Tinctorius Seed Oil
 

Pharmaceutics

News image

Groundnut oil

Groundnut oil is obtained from peeled ...

more

Cosmetics

News image

Jojoba oil

Jojoba oil (synonym: liquid jojoba ...

more

Food

News image

Maize-germ oil

Maize-germ oil is obtained from seedli...

more

Chemistry/Technics

News image

Palm oil

(Crude) palm oil is expressed from t...

more

Organic products

News image

Pomegranate seed oil

The Pomegranate tree is one of the old...

more

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Freitag, 24. November 2017
Safloröl
Drucken E-Mail

Safloröl (Distelöl) wird aus den reifen Samen von Carthamus tinctorius L. (Asteraceae) durch Pressen (kalt gepresstes Safloröl) oder Extraktion und anschließende Raffination gewonnen (raffiniertes Safloröl).

Saflor, auch falscher Safran, Öl- oder Färberdistel genannt, ist eine alte Kulturpflanze aus Vorder- und Mittelasien mit hohem Nutzwert. Im Altertum wurde der rote Farbstoff zum Färben in der Tuchfärberei verwendet. Der Forscher Georg Schweinfurth identizifierte sie 1887 als Grabbeigabe von ägyptische Mumien. Dies zeigt ihre Bedeutung, da nur der Pharao das Recht hatte, Saflor anzupflanzen. Bis in die Neuzeit, vor allem im Elsaß, wurde Saflor zum Färben verwendet, bis er durch die Entdeckung der Anilinfarben verdrängt wurde.

Der anspruchslose, trocken- und salztolerante, tiefwurzelnde, (bis zu 3 m), krautige (abhängig von der Pflanzendichte) Saflor bevorzugt Temperaturen von 24-32°C und wird heute hauptsächlich in Indien, Mexiko, USA, Äthiopien, Australien und Spanien angebaut. Saflor wird geerntet, wenn die Pflanze schon ziemlich trocken aber noch nicht vertrocknet ist. Die Anzahl der Samen liegt, je nach Sorte zwischen 1000-2500, der Ölgehalt beträgt allerdings nur 15%. Da der Schalenanteil (45%) sehr hoch ist und zudem keinen Nutzwert darstellt, wäre Saflor zur Ölgewinnung eigentlich ungeeignet, wenn nicht ein extrem hoher Anteil an essentieller Linolsäure diesen Nachteil wieder ausgleichen würde.

Safloröl, gewonnen nach dem Schälen, Konditionieren, Flockieren und Pressen oder Extrahieren der Saat besitzt den höchsten Linolsäuregehalt (ca. 80%) aller pflanzlichen Öle. Weitere Fettsäuren sind Öl- und Palmitinsäure (10-15% bzw. 5-8 %). Das kalt gepresste Safloröl wird in der Regel der Raffination zugeführt. Das gelbe, einen charakteristischen, milden Geschmack aufweisende Öl ist besonders für die biologische Vollwerternährung geeignet. Safloröl wird weiterhin in diätetischen Lebensmitteln (Margarine, Speiseöl) und in Kosmetika verwendet. In der Pharmazie wird es in dermatologischen Präparaten und in Arzneimitteln zur Herabsetzung des Cholesterinspiegels eingesetzt. Auch als Rohstoff für Lacke und Firnisse hat Safloröl Bedeutung erlangt.

INCI-Bezeichnung: Carthamus Tinctorius Seed Oil

Spezifikationsdaten

 

Pharmazie

News image

Rizinusöl

Rizinusöl wird aus den Samen von ...

mehr

Kosmetik

News image

Pistazienkernöl

Pistacia Vera stammt ursprünglich aus Ze...

mehr

Lebensmittel

News image

Reiskeimöl

Reiskeimöl (Reisöl) wird ...

mehr

Chemie/Technik

News image

Palmöl

Palmöl wird durch Auspressen oder ...

mehr

Bio-Produkte

News image

Olivenöl

Olivenöl wird aus dem Fruchtfleisch der ...

mehr