Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Tuesday, 15 October 2019
Pumpkin seed oil
Print E-mail

01_kl_Kuerbis02_kl_Kuerbis

Pumpkin seed oil is obtained from dried, ground seed (kernels) of Cucurbita pepo L. by pressing.

The pumpkin, a berry fruit, originated in the American tropics and the fruit is the heaviest in the plant world, weighing up to 25 kg. The plant is a creeper or climber, with yellow flowers. It forms round or oval ovaries containing the seeds, which are approx. 2 cm in length. Today, pumpkins are also native to temperate latitudes in Europe, America, China, Africa and in the countries of the former Soviet Union. The major cultivating countries are Austria (Steiermark), Hungary, Romania, Turkey, Italy, Southern Russia, Argentina, China, Japan, Egypt and Syria.

Dried, ground kernels (oil content =35%) from the fruit are pressed to yield a dark green oil rich in oleic and linoleic acids, giving off a characteristic smell and having a typical nutty taste. The oil is not refined and virtually all product is offered for sale in the cold-pressed form. Despite the fact that pumpkin seed oil has a high g-tocopherol content, it becomes rancid fairly quickly, on account of its unsaturated character.

Pumpkin seed oil is a popular edible oil for dressing salads. Locally, pumpkin seed oil is a very popular edible oil, especially in Austria, Hungary and Southern Russia whereas, in Germany, the high price restricts use almost exclusively to haute cuisine. In the pharmaceuticals trade, pumpkin seed oil is used, along with pumpkin seeds (relief of bladder weakness and prostate problems), as a filler for soft gelatin capsules.

INCI Name: Cucurbita Pepo Seed Oil
 

Pharmaceutics

News image

Groundnut oil

Groundnut oil is obtained from peeled ...

more

Cosmetics

News image

Jojoba oil

Jojoba oil (synonym: liquid jojoba ...

more

Food

News image

Hazelnut oil

Hazelnut oil is obtained by pressing k...

more

Chemistry/Technics

News image

Palm oil

(Crude) palm oil is expressed from t...

more

Organic products

News image

Olive oil

Olive oil is obtained from the flesh o...

more

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Freitag, 24. November 2017
Kürbiskernöl
Drucken E-Mail

01_kl_Kuerbis02_kl_KuerbisKürbiskernöl wird aus den getrockneten, gemahlenen Samen (Kerne) von Cucurbita pepo L durch Pressung gewonnen.

Der ursprünglich aus den Tropen Amerikas stammende Beerenfrucht Kürbis besitzt die in der Pflanzenwelt größten Früchte mit bis zu 25 kg Gewicht. Die kriechende oder kletternde, gelbblühende Pflanze bildet runde oder ovale Fruchtknoten aus, die die ca. 2 cm langen Samen enthalten. Heute sind Kürbisse auch in gemäßigten Breiten Europas, Amerikas, Chinas, Afrikas und den Ländern der ehem. Sowjetunion beheimatet. Wichtige Anbauländer sind Österreich (Steiermark), Ungarn, Rumänien, Türkei, Italien, Südrussland, Argentinien, China, Japan, Ägypten und Syrien.

Aus den getrockneten, gemahlenen Kernen (Ölgehalt bis zu 35 %) der Frucht wird das dunkelgrüne, öl-, und linolsäurereiche Öl mit charakteristischem Geruch und typisch nussigem Geschmack, durch Pressen gewonnen. Das Öl wird nicht raffiniert, sondern kommt fast ausschließlich als kaltgepresste Ware in den Handel. Obwohl Kürbiskernöl einen hohen Gehalt an gamma Tocopherol besitzt, wird es wegen seines ungesättigten Charakters relativ schnell ranzig.

Kürbiskernöl ist ein beliebtes Speiseöl zum Verfeinern von Salaten. Speziell in Österreich, Ungarn und Südrussland ist Kürbiskernöl ein lokal sehr beliebtes Speiseöl, während es in Deutschland, bedingt durch seinen hohen Preis, fast nur in der gehobenen Gastronomie eingesetzt wird. In der Pharmazie wird Kürbiskernöl, neben Kürbiskernen (Linderung von Blasenschwäche und Prostatabeschwerden), als Füllung für Weichgelatinekapseln verwendet.

INCI-Bezeichnung: Cucurbita Pepo Seed Oil

Spezifikationsdaten

 

Pharmazie

News image

Nachtkerzenöl

Nachtkerzenöl wird aus den Samen ...

mehr

Kosmetik

News image

Kakaobutter

Kakaobutter wird durch Abpressen ...

mehr

Lebensmittel

News image

Haselnussöl

Haselnussöl wird aus den Kernen (Nüssen)...

mehr

Chemie/Technik

News image

Palmöl

Palmöl wird durch Auspressen oder ...

mehr

Bio-Produkte

News image

Arganöl

Arganbäume (Argania spinosa) sind endemi...

mehr