Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Tuesday, 15 October 2019
UEBT certified Sheabutter
Print E-mail

UEBT Certification for Organic Shea Butter

UEBT

UEBT (Union for Ethical Bio Trade) is a non-profit community that promotes ethical behavior when sourcing natural resources. UEBT verifies whether the purchasing of raw materials benefits human beings and biodiversity. For this purpose, certain procedures are determined for the procurement system of companies and their suppliers. A procurement system means collecting, cultivating or harvesting the raw materials used in the product.

UEBT standard

The internationally recognized sustainability standard "Sourcing with respect" is defined by UEBT as follows:

1. strengthening biodiversity

2. sustainable use of biodiversity

3. fair and equitable sharing of profits

4. local economic development

5. compliance with national and international regulations and laws

6. respect for human, labor and indigenous rights

7. involvement of local and indigenous communities

Gustav Heess is proud to meet these standards in the procurement of shea butter. We have been offering UEBT-certified shea butter since September 2019.

Shea

Shea Tree

Shea Frucht

The shea tree (Butyrospermum parkii) grows in more than 20 countries in semi-dry sub-Saharan West-Africa. The growing area covers more than 3 Million square kilometers, which are populated rurally. This area is home to millions of female shea fruit collectors. According to conservative estimates, there are1.5 billions of trees grown wildly within this area. Its height can reach up to 10 and 25 meters. Shea plantations were not cultivated because the tree needs approx. 20 years until the first harvest and another 30 years until the entirely fruit production is fully developed. A shea tree may become more than 300 years old.

Harvest and Production

The crop starts in May and gets introduced by a traditional festivity. The collection period ends in October. Once the shea fruits are ripe, they are falling from the trees. Female village inhabitants are collecting the wild fruits and carry them home. There the eatable green fruit skin gets removed. Afterwards the peeled nuts get sundried and packed in 80-kg-sacks before loading for transportation to the oil mills. Dried nuts can also be stored for many months. Having arrived at the oil mills the nuts get pressed, the created Sheabutter gets packed and shipped in containers. One container contains 22 tons of Sheabutter.

Sammlerinnen

Added value for the region

As the raw material gets pressed in oil mills in its origin, the resulting added value lasts in the region. It contributes to an improving food- and income situation on-site. The female collectors also provide an essential contribution to the family income because they receive a higher salary as usual.

Price Negotiations

When the crop is over, price negotiations are carried out. All the villagers are taking part in it and the village eldests are involved in every decision.

Preisverhandlungen

Composition

Dried nuts are the source of Sheabutter (approx. 45-50 % fat content). Sheabutter contains valuable fatty acids, wax esters, phytosterols (inter alia campesterol, stigmasterol, β-sistosterol and α-spinosterol), triterpene, tocopherol and allantoin. The melting point is just below the body temperature. Sheabutter contains a high smoke point (approx. 210°C) by nature.

Application

Shea butter is used in cosmetics as well as in food.

Special Sheabutter UEBT as PDF-file

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Samstag, 16. November 2019
UEBT zertifizierte Sheabutter
Drucken E-Mail

UEBT-Zertifizierung für Bio Sheabutter

UEBT

UEBT (Union for Ethical Bio Trade) ist eine gemeinnützige Gemeinschaft, welche das ethische Handeln mit natürlichen Ressourcen fördert. Eine UEBT Zertifizierung zeigt, dass das Produkt respektvoll gegenüber Mensch und Natur beschaffen worden ist. UEBT prüft, ob das Handeln beim Einkauf der Rohstoffe Mensch und Biodiversität zu Gute kommt. Dazu werden bestimmte Verfahren für das Beschaffungssystem von Unternehmen, sowie deren Lieferanten bestimmt. Unter einem Beschaffungssystem versteht man Sammeln, Anbauen oder Ernten der im Produkt verwendeten Rohstoffe.

UEBT-Standard

Der international anerkannte Nachhaltigkeitsstandard „Sourcing with respect“ ist wie folgt von UEBT definiert:

1. Stärkung der Biodiversität

2. Nachhaltige Nutzung der Biodiversität

3. Faire und gerechte Gewinnteilung

4. Lokale Wirtschaftsentwicklung

5. Einhaltung nationaler und internationaler Vorschriften und Gesetze

6. Achtung der Menschen-, Arbeits- und Eingeborenenrechte

7. Einbeziehen der lokalen und einheimischen Gemeinschaften

Gustav Heess ist stolz darauf, diese Standards bei der Beschaffung von Sheabutter zu erfüllen. Seit September 2019 bieten wir UEBT-zertifizierte Sheabutter an.

Shea

Der Sheabaum

Shea Frucht

Sheabäume (Wissenschaftlicher Name: Butyrospermum parkii, Familie: Sapotegewächse) wurden botanisch in über 20 Ländern im halbtrockenen Subsahara-Westafrika aufgezeichnet. Man findet sie auf einer Fläche von über 3 Millionen Quadratkilometern, welche ländlich bevölkert ist und Millionen Sammlerinnen beheimatet. Nach konservativen Schätzungen werden über 1,5 Milliarden wildwachsende Bäume in dieser Zone vermutet. Die Bäume werden zwischen 10 und 25 Meter hoch. Es sind keine Shea-Plantagen kultiviert worden, da ca. 20 Jahre bis zur ersten Ernte vergehen und erst nach 50 Jahren die volle Fruchtproduktion erreicht wird. Der Sheabaum kann über 300 Jahre alt werden.

Ernte und Produktion

Die Ernte beginnt im Mai und wird traditionell mit einem Fest eingeleitet. Die Sammelzeit endet im Oktober. Wenn die Sheafrüchte reif sind, fallen sie von alleine von den Bäumen. Frauen aus den Dörfern sammeln die wilden Früchte im Busch und tragen diese nach Hause. Dort entfernen sie die grüne essbare Fruchtschale. Die geschälten Sheanüsse trocknen dann in der Sonne und werden vor Verladung in die Ölmühle in 80 kg Säcke verpackt. Trockene Nüsse können mehrere Monate gelagert werden. In den Ölmühlen werden die Nüsse gepresst, die entstandene gepresste Sheabutter in Container oder ISO-Tanks à 22 Tonnen verschifft.

Sammlerinnen

Mehrwert für die Region

Da das Rohmaterial in den Ölmühlen im Ursprung gepresst wird, bleibt der resultierende Mehrwert in der Region. Dies trägt zu einer erheblichen Verbesserung der Ernährungs- und Einkommenssituation vor Ort bei. Auch die Sammlerinnen erhalten ein höheres Gehalt als üblich und leisten so einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum Familieneinkommen.

Preisverhandlungen

Nach jeder Ernte finden Preis-verhandlungen mit allen Dorfbewohnern statt. Die Dorfältesten sind dabei bei jeder Entscheidung involviert.

Preisverhandlungen

Zusammensetzung

Die getrockneten Nüsse sind die Quelle für Sheabutter (ca. 34-57 % Fettanteil). Sheabutter enthält wertvolle Fettsäuren, Wachsester, Phytosterole (u.a. Campesterol, Stigmasterol, β-Sistosterol und α-Spinosterol), Triterpene, Tocopherole und Allantoin. Der Schmelzbereich liegt knapp unterhalb der Körpertemperatur. Sie hat von Natur aus einen hohen Rauchpunkt (ca. 210°C).

Anwendungsgebiete

Sheabutter wird in der Kosmetik als auch in Lebensmitteln verwendet.

Den Sondernewsletter als PDF