Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Friday, 20 October 2017
Physical processing
Print E-mail
1 Fractionation

Fats and oils are fractionated in order to enhance their working value and/or to increase their commercial value, or to make special products.
Fractionation can be applied to crude oils, to deacidified and bleached oils or to oils that have only been bleached.


Fats and oils are not homogeneous substances, but mixtures of various triglycerides with differing melting points. This affects their physical properties. Thus, fats and oils do not have a definite melting point, but a melting range. This characteristic is exploited for separation purposes.

Fractionation is a purely physical process, in which both fat and triglyceride components remain unchanged. Separation is governed exclusively by the melting point or, in the case of wet fractionation, by solubility in a suitable solvent. The liquid components of a fat are present as droplets in the crystal lattice of components with higher melting-points and are squeezed out. Despite the use of modern equipment, the process takes several hours and can be broken down into the following stages:

· Melting or dissolving the fat/oil
· Conditioning
· Crystallising
· Separating

The three methods currently used for fractionation are:

1.1 Dry fractionation (without adjuvants)


Dry fractionation is based upon the principle of separation according to the differing melting points for the various components, e.g. olein and stearin. The process has the advantage of being purely physical, involving no additives of any kind and, thus, dispensing with the need for subsequent product purification. One disadvantage is relatively poor separation, compared with the two other processes. Dry fractionation is performed by heating the mixture to a temperature above the melting point and then leaving it to cool and separate, usually into two fractions.

1.2 Lanza fractionation

The principle is based on a patent granted to the Lanza brothers in 1905. Separation is not performed mechanically, but by wetting the crystal surface with aqueous detergents, into which salts may also be mixed .
This hinders emulsification. Wetting causes higher melting-point components in the oil to become hydrophilic and to migrate into the aqueous phase. This produces large crystal-free oil droplets that then coalesce. In the next step in processing, the two phases are separated by centrifugation.

1.3 Wet fractionation

The principle is based upon differences in solvent solubility at a given temperature. This results in sharp separation of the different phases, which can be controlled by adjusting the temperature and the amount of solvent. If particularly pure fractions are required, the product can be re-washed with a solvent and the latter is subsequently removed.

2 Winterising

Winterising is a very simple form of fractionation, in which it is not two fractions with similar particle sizes that are separated, but small portions that are separated from the bulk of the oil. This process is not used to modify an oil, but to alter its behaviour, so that it becomes easier to handle at low temperatures. At refrigerator temperatures, waxes, along with high melting-point glycerides, tend to curdle. This is sometimes mistaken for spoiling.
De-acidified and bleached oil is cooled down to 5-15°C. Unwanted waxes, mucilages and high melting-point glycerides precipitate out and are filtered off. In most cases, this filtering process is problematic, due either to the small amounts of waxes and glycerides involved or to the properties of the substances that need to be separated. This problem can be tackled by adding small amounts of fuller's earth.

Winterising can be performed in batches or continuously and takes somewhere in the region of 4-8 hours, depending on the type of oil and on the process used (batch or continuous).

There is also the option of solvent winterising. The oil is mixed with the solvent (to avoid losses) and cooled. The high melting-point crystals in the triglycerides are filtered off and the solvent is then removed.
 

Pharmaceutics

News image

Wheatgerm oil

Wheatgerm oil is obtained from wheat c...

more

Cosmetics

News image

Beeswax

Beeswax is obtained by melting down ...

more

Food

News image

Linseed oil

Linseed oil is obtained from the seed ...

more

Chemistry/Technics

News image

MCT-oil

MCT is an abbreviation that stands ...

more

Organic products

News image

Macadamia nut oil

Macadamia nut oil is gained from the...

more

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

fr

Donnerstag, 17. August 2017
Physikalische Weiterverarbeitung
Drucken E-Mail
1 Die Fraktionierung

Die Fraktionierung von Fetten und Ölen wird angewandt um den Gebrauchswert und/oder den Handelswert zu erhöhen oder um Spezialprodukte herzustellen.
Die Fraktionierung kann sowohl bei Rohölen als auch bei entsäuerten und gebleichten Ölen oder mit nur gebleichten Ölen durchgeführt werden.

Bei Fetten und Ölen handelt es sich nicht um eine homogene Substanz sondern um ein Gemisch aus verschiedenen Triglyceriden, deren Schmelzpunkte unterschiedlich sind. Dies beeinflusst ihre physikalischen Eigenschaften. Fette und Öle haben deshalb keinen festen Schmelzpunkt sondern einen Schmelzbereich. Diese Eigenschaft wird zur Trennung ausgenützt.

Die Fraktionierung ist ein rein physikalisches Verfahren bei dem sowohl die Bausteine der Fette als auch die Triglyceride unverändert bleiben. Getrennt wird ausschließlich nach dem Schmelzpunkt, beziehungsweise bei der Nassfraktionierung nach der Löslichkeit in geeignetem Lösungsmittel. Die flüssigen Anteile eines Fettes befinden sich als Tröpfchen im Kristallgitter der höherschmelzenden Anteile und werden herausgepresst. Trotz der Anwendung moderner Apparate dauert ein Prozess mehrere Stunden und gliedert sich in die Schritte

  • das Schmelzen oder Lösen des Fettes/Öles
  • das Konditionieren
  • das Kristallisieren
  • die Trennung

Die drei zur Zeit angewandten Verfahren zur Fraktionierung sind:

1.1 Trockenfraktionierung (ohne Hilfsstoffe)

Die Trockenfraktionierung beruht auf dem Prinzip der Trennung aufgrund von unterschiedlichen Schmelzpunkten der einzelnen Komponenten, z.B. Olein und Stearin. Das Verfahren hat den Vorteil, dass bei diesem rein physikalischen Vorgang keinerlei Zusatzstoffe verwendet werden. Somit entfällt eine spätere Reinigung des Produktes. Nachteilig ist die relativ schlechte Trennung gegenüber den zwei anderen Verfahren. Zur Durchführung wird das Gemisch über den Schmelzpunkt hinaus erhitzt. Danach läßt man es abkühlen und trennt die, meist zwei Fraktionen, voneinander ab.

1.2 Lanza Fraktionierung

Das Prinzip beruht auf einem Patent, das 1905 Fratelli Lanza erteilt wurde. Die Trennung erfolgt nicht durch eine mechanische Methode, sondern durch eine Benetzung der Kristalloberfläche mit wässrigen Detergentien der Salze beigemischt sein können.
Die Emulsionsbildung wird erschwert. Durch die Benetzung werden die höherschmelzenden Anteile des Öles hydrophil und wandern in die Wasserphase. Es bilden sich große Öltropfen die frei von Kristallen sind und zusammenlaufen. Die beiden Phasen werden in einem sich anschließenden Arbeitsschritt abzentrifugiert.

1.3 Nassfraktionierung

Das Prinzip beruht auf der unterschiedlichen Löslichkeit im Lösungsmittel bei einer bestimmten Temperatur. Man erhält eine scharfe Trennung der einzelnen Phasen die man über die Temperatur des Lösungsmittels und die Lösungsmittelmenge beeinflussen kann. Sind besonders reine Fraktionen erwünscht, wird mit Lösungsmittel nachgewaschen. Das Lösungsmittel wird anschließend entfernt.


2 Die Winterisierung

Die Winterisierung ist eine sehr einfache Form der Fraktionierung. Es werden bei einer Winterisierung nicht zwei Fraktionen mit ähnlicher Teilchengröße getrennt, sondern kleine Teile eines Öles von der Hauptmenge. Das Verfahren dient nicht der Modifikation eines Öles, sondern der Änderung des Verhaltens eines Öles, um bei tiefen Temperaturen eine bessere Handhabung zu erreichen.Viele Speiseöle zeigen bei Kühlschranktemperaturen eine Ausflockung von Wachsen und hochschmelzenden Glyceriden, was irrtümlicherweise als Verderb gewertet wird.

Das entsäuerte und gebleichte Öl wird auf 5-15°C abgekühlt, die unerwünschten Wachs- sowie Schleimstoffe und hochschmelzenden Glyceride werden ausgefällt und abfiltriert. Meistens ist das Abfiltrieren wegen der geringen Menge der Wachse und Glyceride oder wegen der Eigenschaften der abzutrennenden Stoffe problematisch. Diese Schwierigkeit kann durch einen Zusatz von geringen Mengen an Bleicherde behoben werden.

Die Winterisierung kann chargenweise oder kontinuierlich durchgeführt werden. Der Zeitraum der Winterisierung liegt bei 4-8 Stunden, abhängig von der Art des Öles und der Verfahrensführung (chargenweise/kontinuierlich).
Alternativ ist eine Winterisierung über Lösungsmittel möglich. Das Öl wird mit Lösungsmittel versetzt (Verlustvermeidung), abgekühlt und die hochschmelzenden Kristalle der Triglyceride anschließend abfiltriert. Es schließt sich eine Entfernung des Lösungsmittels an.

 

Pharmazie

News image

Rizinusöl

Rizinusöl wird aus den Samen von ...

mehr

Kosmetik

News image

Kakaobutter

Kakaobutter wird durch Abpressen ...

mehr

Lebensmittel

News image

Sonnenblumenöl

Sonnenblumenöl wird aus den geschälten ...

mehr

Chemie/Technik

News image

Rapsöl

Rapsöl (Rüböl) wird aus den Samen ...

mehr

Bio-Produkte

News image

Granatapfelkernöl

Der Granatapfel gehört zu den ältesten...

mehr